THE COUNTY OF THE PROPERTY OF

WAKE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL CALLED BOARD MEETING FOR RECOGNITION MINUTES OCTOBER 19, 2010

Board Members Present	Staff Members Pr	esent
Ron Margiotta, Chair	Interim Superintendent Donna Hargens	David Holdzkom
Debra Goldman, Vice Chair	Terri Cobb	Ann Hooker
Kevin L. Hill	Danny Barnes	Cathy Moore
Anne McLaurin	Marvin Connelly	David Neter
Chris Malone	Joe Desormeaux	Andre Smith
Carolyn Morrison	Michael Evans	
Deborah Prickett	Stephen Gainey	
John Tedesco	Lloyd Gardner	
Keith Sutton	Don Haydon	•

Board Chair, Ron Margiotta, called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m. Everyone recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

RECOGNITION

EMPLOYEE EXCELLENCE AWARD RECIPIENTS

Eleven (11) employees were nominated for this month's Employee Excellence Award. Fiscal Implications: None. Recommendation for Action: None.

Dr. Stephen Gainey presented eight of the eleven employees to the Board and recognized the eleven employees as Employee Excellence Award recipients. Chairman Margiotta shared that the outstanding employees in the Wake County Public School System makes the difference for our children. He stated that the employees being recognized are the "best of the best". Chairman Margiotta quoted Will Rogers saying that, "In order to succeed, you must know what you are doing, like what you are doing, and believe in what you are doing." He stated that the quote described everyone receiving the Employee Excellence Award. Chairman Margiotta and the Board thanked and congratulated all of the recipients.

The Board recessed at 5:45 p.m. The Board returned to Open Session at 6:03 p.m.

SPOTLIGHT ON STUDENTS

Twenty-four students will be recognized as Spotlight on Students award winners at 6:00.

Eric Sparks presented 21 students to the Board of Education as Spotlight on Student Award winners. Chairman Margiotta thanked parents, family members, school staffs, and the students for being present. Chairman Margiotta and the Board of Education congratulated each of the students on their accomplishments.

The Board recessed at 6:25 p.m. The Board returned to Open Session at 6:56 p.m.

Fifteen students will be recognized as Spotlight on Students award winners at 7:00. Fiscal Implications: None. Recommendation for Action: None.

Eric Sparks presented 14 students to the Board of Education as Spotlight on Student Award winners. Chairman Margiotta thanked parents, family members, school staffs, and students for being present. Chairman Margiotta and the Board of Education congratulated each of the students on their superior performance and accomplishments.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business coming before the Board, Debra Goldman made a motion to adjourn, seconded by John Tedesco. The motion was unanimously approved. The meeting adjourned at 7:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
Ronald A. Margiotta, Chair, Wake County Board of Education	Donna M. Hargens, Interim Superintendent, WCPSS
Melissa R. Allen, Recording Secretary	