# WAKE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION OPEN MINUTES – ANNUAL MEETING July 2, 2001

\_\_\_\_\_

Board Members Present: Bill Fletcher, Chair

Beverley Clark Rosa Gill Judy Hoffman J.C. O'Neal Tom Oxholm Susan Parry Kathryn Quigg

Staff Members Present: Karen Banks

Jo Baker Danny Barnes Del Burns Mike Burriss Cindi Jolly Ray Massey Toni Patterson Janice Shearin Jonibel Willis

Board Attorneys Present: Ann Majestic

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Bill Fletcher called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. Everyone recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

In opening comments, Mr. Fletcher reported that the Board had just completed a successful annual planning retreat, setting goals and prioritizing school system issues for the upcoming year. Superintendent McNeal echoed those comments, noting that there was a consistent alignment of thoughts among the Board and administration.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Rosa Gill made a motion to approve the agenda. It was seconded by Beverley Clark and the vote was unanimous.

The purpose of the meeting was to elect a new chairman and vice chairman for the Board. In keeping with Board policy, Mr. Fletcher passed the gavel to Superintendent McNeal, the Board Secretary, for election of the Chairman. McNeal explained that in nominations for the Board Chair and Vice Chair, there is not a required second. Ballots would be handed out to each board member, who would then vote and sign one ballot. These ballots would be a matter of public record.

Bill Fletcher nominated Kathryn Watson Quigg for Chairman.

Rosa Gill made a motion for acclamation, seconded by Beverley Clark. The vote was unanimous.

Board members expressed their appreciation to Mr. Fletcher for his leadership and experience over the past year; and Mr. Fletcher thanked the board, staff and public for the opportunity to serve in the capacity of Chair.

Kathryn Quigg then thanked the Board for their show of confidence and noted that she looked forward to the opportunity to serve as the new Chairperson.

The gavel was passed to Ms. Quigg, who called for nominations for the Vice Chair.

Beverley Clark nominated Tom Oxholm.

Bill Fletcher nominated Susan Parry.

Rosa Gill moved to close nominations. Beverley Clark seconded and the vote was unanimous.

Tom Oxholm asked for a three-minute recess to speak with Susan Parry regarding the nominations. When they returned, Mr. Oxholm requested that his name be removed from consideration for Vice Chair, noting that he would prefer to focus on his area of expertise as Chair of the Finance Committee. Beverley Clark withdrew her nomination. Rosa Gill nominated J.C. O'Neal for Vice Chair.

Ballots were completed and tabulated by Ann Majestic.

The attorney reported that there were five votes for Susan Parry and two votes for J.C. O'Neal. As a matter of record, Beverley Clark, Tom Oxholm, Bill Fletcher, Susan Parry and Judy Hoffman voted for Ms. Parry. J.C. O'Neal and Rosa Gill voted for J.C. O'Neal.

# **CLOSED SESSION**

Bill Fletcher made a motion to move into closed session to: To consider confidential personnel file information under G.S. 115C-319 Beverley Clark seconded the motion and the vote was unanimous.

#### **ACTION**

### **PERSONNEL**

# 1. Recommendation for Administrative Appointment

*Gerald F. Pickett*, applicant, to principal at Fuquay-Varina High School, effective date to be determined.

J.C. O'Neal made a motion to approve, seconded by Beverley Clark. The vote was unanimous.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, Kathryn Quigg adjourned the meeting at 5:15 p.m.

### **SUMMARY**

The Board discussed the process for appointing a new board member to the vacant District 8 seat included setting the date for the meeting as July 10 at 5:00 p.m.; the process of collecting questions to be asked; and the time frame for each interview. The date for the installation of the newly appointed District 8 board member was set for August 6 at 7:00 p.m. The Superintendent's evaluation will be held prior to that on the same day at 4:00 p.m. Board members were also asked to review the draft entitled Guiding Statement for Citizen Advisory Committee for School System Operating Budget, as well as to submit two names to Kathryn Quigg as possible members for this committee.

Respectfully submitted,	
Annette Marett, Recording Secretary	Bill McNeal, Secretary
Bill Fletcher, Chairman	