

WAKE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

OPEN MINUTES - ANNUAL MEETING

Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Board Members Present	Staff Members Present		
Susan Parry, Chair	Superintendent McNeal Janice Shearin		
Patti Head, Vice Chair	Jo Baker	Walt Sherlin	
Beverley Clark	Danny Barnes	Jonibel Willis	
Bill Fletcher	Karen Banks		
Rosa Gill	Maurice Boswell		
Kathryn Watson Quigg	Del Burns		
Tom Oxholm	Mike Burriss		
Amy White	Luther Cherry		
Jeff York	Michael Evans		
	Donald Haydon	Board Attorney Present	
	Linda Isley	Ann Majestic	
	Toni Patterson		
	Beverly White		

Kathryn Watson Quigg called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Everyone recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

The purpose of the annual meeting is to elect a new chair and vice chair for the Board of Education for school year 2003-2004. In keeping with Board Policy, Ms. Quigg passed the gavel to Superintendent Bill McNeal, the Board Secretary, for election of the Chair. Mr. McNeal explained that nominations for the Board chair and vice chair do not require a second. Ballots were handed out to each board member. Each would vote and sign their ballot. These ballots would be a matter of public record.

Tom Oxholm nominated Susan Parry for chair.

Jeff York moved the nominations be closed, seconded by Rosa Gill. The vote was unanimous by a show of hands and Ms. Parry was elected Board Chair.

The gravel was passed to Ms. Parry, who called for nominations for the vice chair.

Amy White nominated Patti Head.

Tom Oxholm moved the nominations be closed, seconded by Jeff York. The vote was unanimous by a show of hands and Ms. Head was elected Board Vice Chair.

Patti Head nominated Ann Majestic, Tharrington-Smith, Attorney-at-Law as Board's Legal counsel. Beverley Clark amended the motion to read that the law firm of Tharrington-Smith would represent the Board as Legal counsel. Tom Oxholm seconded the amended motion. The vote was unanimous.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Kaunyn Quigg aujor	arned the meeting at 4.10 p.m.
Elwanda K. Farrow, Recording Secretary	Bill McNeal, Superintendent, WCPSS
Susan Parry, Chair	