

WAKE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES June 15, 2010

Board Members Present	Staff Members Present	
Ron Margiotta, Chair	Interim Superintendent,	Don Haydon
	Donna Hargens	
Debra Goldman, Vice Chair	Terri Cobb	David Holdzkom
Kevin L. Hill	Danny Barnes	Ann Hooker
Anne McLaurin	Kathy Chontos	Julye Mizelle
Chris Malone	Marvin Connelly	Cathy Moore
Carolyn Morrison	Joe Desormeaux	David Neter
Deborah Prickett	Laura Evans	Andre Smith
John Tedesco	Michael Evans	Mark Winters
Keith Sutton	Stephen Gainey	Board Attorney
	Lloyd Gardner	Ann Majestic

Chairman, Ron Margiotta, called the meeting to order at 3:09 p.m. Everyone recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Mr. Margiotta turned the gavel over to Interim Superintendent Donna Hargens to preside over the election of the Board Chair for the upcoming year. Dr. Hargens explained the procedure for the election of the Board Chair at the Annual Meeting.

John Tedesco made a motion to nominate Ron Margiotta as Chair of the Wake County Board of Education. Anne McLaurin made a motion to nominate Keith Sutton as Chair of the Wake County Board of Education. Debra Goldman made a motion to close the nominations, seconded by Chris Malone. The motion was unanimously approved. Board Attorney, Ann Majestic reminded the Board that their past practice is to use paper ballots. Ms. Majestic reminded the Board that they must sign the ballots and that the ballots are available to the public at the close of the meeting. Chairman Margiotta suggested that the Board use a Roll Call Vote. Debra Goldman made a motion to have the Board use a Roll Call Vote. The motion was seconded by John Tedesco. After some discussion of using the Roll Call Vote instead of paper ballots, the Board voted 5 to 2, with Keith Sutton and Anne McLaurin voting "no", to use the Roll Call Vote method.

Anne McLaurin voted for Keith Sutton as Board Chair, John Tedesco voted for Ron Margiotta as Board Chair, Kevin L. Hill voted for Keith Sutton as Board Chair, Ron Margiotta voted for himself as Board Chair, Debra Goldman voted for Ron Margiotta as Board Chair, Chris Malone voted for Ron Margiotta as Board Chair, Deborah Prickett voted for Ron Margiotta as Board Chair, Keith Sutton voted for himself as Chair, and Carolyn Morrison voted for Keith Sutton as Board Chair. Dr. Hargens shared that the vote was 5 for Ron Margiotta and 4 for Keith Sutton. Ron Margiotta was named Chairman of the Wake County Board of Education.

Mr. Margiotta asked for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Chris Malone made a motion to nominate Debra Goldman as Vice Chair of the Wake County Board of Education. Anne McLaurin made a motion to nominate Keith Sutton as Vice Chair. The Board voted for the Vice Chair on a Roll Call Vote. Anne McLaurin voted for Keith Sutton as Vice Chair, John Tedesco voted for Debra Goldman as Vice Chair, Kevin L. Hill voted for Keith Sutton as Vice Chair, Debra Goldman voted for herself as Vice Chair, Chris Malone voted for Debra Goldman as vice Chair, Debra Frickett voted for Debra Goldman as Vice Chair, Keith Sutton voted for himself as Vice Chair, and Carolyn Morrison voted for Keith Sutton as Vice Chair. The vote was 4 to 4, Chairman Margiotta voted for Debra Goldman as Vice Chair. Debra Goldman was named as Vice Chairman of the Wake County Board of Education.

ELECTION OF BOARD ATTORNEY

Kevin L. Hill made a motion to re-appoint the firm of Tharrington-Smith as the Board's legal counsel, seconded by Anne McLaurin. The motion was unanimously approved.

SUMMARY/ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no further announcements to be made.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business coming before the Board, Keith Sutton made a motion to adjourn the Annual Meeting, seconded by Debra Goldman. The motion was unanimously approved. The Annual Meeting adjourned at 3:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ron Margiotta, Chair, Wake County Board of Education

Donna Hargens, Interim Superintendent, WCPSS

Melissa R. Christmas, Recording Secretary